World Gift Market 2015

World Gift Market 2015

Fair Trade and non-profit organizations focus on providing economic viability for the poorest and most underserved populations in our community and around the world. They do this by creating cooperatives where members can produce handmade items in a clean, safe workplace and be paid a fair wage. Because they don’t use sweatshops or mass marketing, these organizations need a marketplace to sell their goods.

Our Mission: To provide a low overhead marketplace in which in which Fair Trade and Non-profit organizations can sell their products. First Universalist’s World Gift Market provides such a marketplace.

Wine and Cheese Opening Friday, November 20 from
5:00-8:00 pm

All are welcome! Come to shop, and enjoy time to visit with vendors.

2015 WORLD GIFT MARKET hours:

  • Friday, November 20, 5:00-8:00 pm
  • Saturday, November 21, 9:00 am-4:00 pm
  • Sunday, November 22, 9:00 am-2:00 pm

2015 WGM Flier

The World Gift Market is an annual event that First Universalist has hosted for over 10 years. It is a global village marketplace that supports artisans in Denver and throughout the world. Local groups such as Earthlinks, The Gathering Place, and A Little Something assist refugees from war torn countries and help homeless individuals learn job skills. These groups, helping men and women develop the skills and confidence to participate in the economic and social/political life of their community embody our UU principles. Our World Gift Market is very important to them as it provides a space where their Fair Trade products can be sold—most products handmade by individual artisans working in small cooperatives, not sweatshops or factories. By purchasing the unique products, we are affirming the dignity and worth of the artisans and their craft traditions. We are helping to create a more just sustainable global economic system.

Everyone is invited to experience the market. The many, many beautiful, one-of-a-kind items make perfect gifts for friends and family. Also, you can join other UUs and be involved by volunteering your time. Please contact Janet Melody, if interested. First Universalist will again partner with First Plymouth to provide an expanded Market—however, the wine and cheese Friday night opening is only held at First Universalist. Hope to see you there.

Participating Organizations and Websites

Little Something, www.refugeecrafts.com

A-Mark on the World, www.amarkontheworld.com

Anoothi, (website not available) 

Beadnix, (no website)

Bridging Hope, www.bridging-hope.org

Cielo Maya, (no website)            

Earthlinks, www.EarthLinks-Colorado.org

Fair Trade Republica, http://fairtraderepublica.com/

The Gathering Place, http://www.tgpdenver.org/

Hmong Toys, (no website)

Indigo Threads, www.indigothreads.org

International Library Project, (no website)

Kaliedoscope, (no website)

Ladies Sewing Circle, www.gifttwice.org/ladiessewing.html

Mission Wear, http://themissionwear.org/

One Mother, (no website)

Outreach Uganda, www.outreachuganda.org

Pachyderm Power, www.kristalparks.com/pachyderm/

Team Africa Ties, http://supportteamafrica.tumblr.com/

Trading Hope, http://www.tradinghope.com/

UNICEF, www.unicef.org

Women’s Bean Project, http://www.womensbeanproject.com/

Yobel Market, www.yobelmarket.com